top of page

Do it yourself Framing for Poster Prints


I've recently reintroduced poster prints into my collection! One of the main reasons I offer my art in this format is affordability. While many people admire my original pieces, not everyone can invest in them. Poster prints offer a budget-friendly way to enjoy beautiful art at home without the huge expense.


Speaking from experience, custom framing can be quite expensive. I once had seven limited edition reproductions custom framed, and it set me back $1400! Despite the cost, I appreciate the elegance and protection that custom framing provides for our cherished art pieces.



If, like me, you appreciate both art and the aesthetic of framed pieces but find custom framing out of reach financially, I have a solution that works particularly well with poster prints.


For framing, I purchased a 61 cm x 91.5 cm black frame from a local shop for just $25. Similar sizes are available at Ikea and possibly Kmart, a 60cm x 90cm will work aswell. While I prefer thinner frames, the available options were limited.


Next, I bought white foam core board from a local framer and had it custom-cut to fit the frame perfectly. Alternatively, foam core sheets or mount board in different colours can be purchased from art shops, where they may also offer cutting services.


Here are simplified instructions:


  • Lay the poster print on the foam core board, making sure it's positioned correctly with all sides similar.

  • Use double-sided tape to attach the corners of the print to the board.

  • Insert the board into the frame with the art facing the glass.

  • You can choose to use the original backing to secure everything or leave it off.

  • Secure the edges with tape for extra stability.

  • Attach D rings and wire for hanging, following online tutorials if needed.


In total, this framing method cost me approximately $40 for a polished finished product.


I hope this alternative framing method proves helpful! While some may still prefer custom framing for unique sizes and personal preferences, this offers an accessible option for framing my poster prints!


I'll include some photos to illustrate what I've described.


Warm Regards,

Sis x









7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page